Facebook Twitter LinkedIn YouTube
East Midlands Chamber News

Finalists announced for Chamber’s Enterprising Women awards

The finalists have been announced in the annual quest to find the most successful and inspirational business women in the East Midlands.

The 2020 finalists were revealed at an Enterprising Women breakfast panel at Haarelm Mill, Derbyshire, where delegates also interacted with a panel discussion on cultural diversity within business.

The top 39 candidates have been picked from over 100 entries for this year’s Enterprising Women awards in what was a record-breaking year for submissions.

The winners will be announced at a gala dinner on 6 March at DoubleTree by Hilton Sheffield Park, hosted by popular news presenter Emma Jesson.

There are eight awards to be won this year: Business Woman of the Year (sponsored by Futures Housing Group); Outstanding Contribution to Work in STEM (Pick Everard), Social Commitment Award (Hastings Direct); Apprentice of the Year (Derby College); Female Employee of the Year (Smallman and Sons); Female Entrepreneur of the Year (Leicester Racecourse); Team of the Year (Leicester Tigers) and Small Business of the Year (The Belmont Hotel).

Co-Chair of Enterprising Women, Eileen Richards MBE, Vice-President of the Chamber, said: “The Enterprising Women Awards have continued to grow year on year, and we are thrilled to welcome attendees to another fantastic awards gala dinner.

“There is a real hunger among women in the business community to be recognised for their achievements and these awards are one of the best ways to achieve that recognition.”

Co-Chair Jean Mountain, a Past-President at the Chamber, said: “This year we received the highest amount of applications we’ve ever had, resulting in incredibly talented finalists.

“By highlighting their contribution and telling their stories, hopefully we can inspire other women to pursue their business dream.”

President of the Chamber, Dawn Edwards, added: “One of my goals for my presidency is to encourage and support more women into business. I think Eileen and Jean do a fantastic job in chairing Enterprising Women, and the awards truly recognise the journeys and achievements of women in business from across the region.

“Good luck to all those shortlisted and I look forward to joining Eileen, Jean and fellow members on 6 March to celebrate our fantastic women in business.”


2020 Enterprising Women finalists:

Business Woman of the Year (sponsored by Futures Housing Group)

  • Fiona Moffatt – Timms Solicitors
  • Jillian Thomas - Future Life Wealth Management
  • Maria Hanson – me&dee
  • Mital Thanki - Spark Academy
  • Neeyantee Karia - Jake and Nayns’

Female Entrepreneur of the Year (sponsored by Leicester Racecourse)

  • Mital Thanki - Spark Academy
  • Rachel Hayward - Ask the Chameleon
  • Suzanne Dixon - Kedleston Safety
  • Tracey Mosley - EMA Training
  • Victoria Prince - Touchpoints Marketing

Social Commitment Award (sponsored by Hastings Direct)

  • Alex’s Wish
  • Easy Internet Services
  • Learn by Design
  • Mercia Image Print
  • Sarah Gatford

Small Business of the Year Award (sponsored by The Belmont Hotel)

  • Barefoot Coaching
  • Blueprint Interiors
  • Haarlem Mill
  • Mercia Image Print
  • Penny Price Aromatherapy

Female Employee of the Year (sponsored by Smallman and Son)

  • Abby Charleton - Haarlem Mill
  • Diana Hawkins - Built Environment Consulting (BEC)
  • Emma Anderson - Freeths LLP
  • Kimberley Bloor - Blueprint Interiors
  • Tracy Horton - Shirebrook Academy

Team of the Year (sponsored by Leicester Tigers)

  • Blueprint Interiors
  • Pick Everard
  • Rolls-Royce
  • Timms Solicitors
  • TTK Confectionary

Outstanding Contribution to Work in STEM Award (sponsored by Pick Everard)

  • BASF
  • E Safety Training
  • Inclusive Boards
  • Learn by Design
  • Structural Adhesives

Apprentice of the Year (sponsored by Derby College)

  • Charlotte Haile – PGM Reball
  • Hannah Naqwi – Rolls-Royce
  • Ranica Brown – Bloc Digital
  • Sophie Neil – Turner & Townsend

Photo caption - (L-R) Marsha Ramroop, Unheard Voice; Eileen Richards MBE; Lucy Robinson, the Chamber; Wendy McPhearson, Inclusive Boards; Dawn Edwards; Mark Esho, Easy Internet Services.