Board of Directors

The Chamber’s Board of Directors are a group of individuals who are profoundly experienced, respected and successful in business – all specialising in different fields and sectors.

The Board together is greater than the sum of its parts and, individually and collectively, are well qualified to assist the Senior Leadership Team in driving the Chamber – and by proxy its members - forward strategically to even greater heights and success.

Chair of the Board of Directors: Phil Stanyer

Following his education in West Yorkshire, Phil trained as a Chartered Accountant in Manchester. Upon qualification, he joined a manufacturing company supplying materials to the footwear industry where he was appointed Finance Director. More about Phil Stanyer

President: Kevin Harris - RSM

Kevin has worked in the accountancy profession for more than 30 years and specialises in helping businesses determine and execute their corporate strategy. More about Kevin Harris

Vice-President Dawn Edwards - Challenge Consulting

Dawn is Managing Director of award-winning Nottinghamshire-based business Challenge Consulting. More about Dawn Edwards

Immediate Past-President Robert Mayo - Welbeck Estate

Robert Mayo is Development Director for the Welbeck Estate, his role is to bring about the transformation of one of the most significant groups of listed buildings in the East Midlands. More about Robert Mayo

Dr Darren Clark - Medilink East Midlands Limited

Darren is the Chief Executive Officer of Medilink East Midlands, the industry support organisation for healthcare and bioscience companies. More about Dr Darren Clark

Stuart Dawkins - Board Member

Stuart has a wide range of business experience, including heading strategic planning and corporate communications for a FTSE100 company. He is an experienced board member for organisations from a wide variety of sectors. More about Stuart Dawkins

Mark Deakin - Turner and Townsend 

Mark has worked within the property sector for over twenty-five years having trained as a‚Ä®chartered quantity surveyor and project manager. More about Mark Deakin 



James Fry - Mills & Reeve LLP

James is a partner with the national law firm Mills & Reeve LLP where he heads its life sciences practice, James has a long association with the East Midlands having lived and worked in the region for over 20 years. More about James Fry


Jaffer Kapasi - J A Kapasi & Co Ltd

Jaffer Kapasi has an academic and professional background in finance, with extensive experience as a Managing Director of his own accountancy practice. More about Jaffer Kapasi


Scott Knowles - The Chamber's Chief Executive

Scott was promoted to the Board as an Executive Director with effect from 1 August 2015. More about Scott Knowles




Steve Midgley - Fairgrove Homes

Steve is the founder & Managing Director of Chamber Member, Fairgrove Homes Ltd, new homes developers in the East Midlands, East Staffordshire and South Yorkshire. Fairgrove Homes is currently building around 50 new homes per year.



Harry Punchihewa - The University of Derby

Hari is the Deputy Chief Executive and Finance Director of Chamber Patron, The University of Derby. He is one of five members of the University Core Executive team.



John Robinson - Institute of Export 

John retired from a senior post at NATO headquarters after a successful career in the RAF and merged second careers in both international trade and higher-level teaching at a number of East Midlands colleges and universities. More about John Robinson 


Eileen Richards - ER Recruitment

Eileen is the founder of ER Recruitment Ltd. Eileen has been in the recruitment industry for over 20 years. Eileen is Co-Chair of Enterprising Women for the Chamber.


Martin Rigley - Lindhurst Engineering

Martin has been Chief Executive Officer and Managing Director of Lindhurst Engineering since 1994 and was previously an electrical engineer for British Coal for 13 years.


Lindsey Williams - Futures Housing Group

Lindsey has been Group Chief Executive since Futures Housing was formed as Amber Valley Housing in 2003.